CORPORATE VS. INDEPENDENT…YOU MAKE THE CALL!

I WHOLEHEARTEDLY AGREE WITH THE POST BEFORE MINE. INDEPENDENT RADIO IS NOT SO FOCUSED ON THE DJ PERSONALITY BUT MORE SO THE MUSIC. I TUNED INTO 88.5 AND THE RADIO PERSONALITY SELDOMLY SPOKE AND WHEN HE DID IT WAS SIMPLY TO LET YOU KNOW THE NAME OF THE SONG! BIG CORPORATE RADIO STATIONS ARE SO FOCUSED ON THE PERSONALITIES THAT THEY FAIL TO LET YOU KNOW THE NAME OF THE SONGS THAT THEY PLAY! THERE WAS ONE ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE DJ ABOUT KIDS GOING TO COLLEGE AND PLANNING IT EARLY (I WOULD RATHER HEAR THIS THAN A THOUSAND SILLY COMMERCIALS ABOUT NOTHING! IE ON B96 THEY PLAY THIS COMMERCIAL FOR WOMEN LOOKING TO EARN EXTRA MONEY BY WAITRESSING AT A STRIP CLUB! I BELIEVE IT’S CALLED HEAVENLY BODIES!

THE STATION I TUNED INTO, 88.5 SAID THEY WERE AN ELECTRONICA STATION AND I REALLY ENJOYED THE MUSIC PLAYED. I DOWNLOADED ONE SONG BECAUSE IT WAS SO HOT TO ME: SINCE I LEFT YOU BY THE AVALANCHES! I GOT A CHANCE TO LISTEN TO MUSIC I WOULD NOT HEAR ON ANY OF MY PRE-SET CORPORATE STATIONS. 88.5 ALSO PLAYED THIS 50 CENT THAT WAS MIXED ON TOP OF AN ELECTRONICA BEAT. THEY ALSO PLAYED TENDERNESS BY DIAMOND. IT DOES SEEM THAT THE DJ HAS MORE FREEDOM IN HIS SONG CHOICES ON INDEPENDENT RADIO. ON B96 AND OTHER SIMILAR STATION (107.5 WGCI, POWER 92, 103.5 KISS FM, ETC) THEY HAVE THESE SET COMPUTERIZED PLAYLIST THAT THEY PLAY DAY IN AND DAY OUT! THE ONLY TIME YOU GET SOME VARIETY IS WHEN YOU HAVE AN AUTHENTIC DJ COME ON AND SPIN SOME TRACKS! I DEFINITELY WAS FULFILLED WITH THE INDEPENDENT STATION! I WON’T STRAY FROM MY CORPORATE STATIONS THOUGH BECAUSE THEY KEEP ME ABREAST OF NEW MUSIC ON THE SCENE. THE INDEPENDENT STATION I LISTENED TO SEEMED TO FOCUS ON MODERN MUSIC BUT NOT BRAND SPANKING NEW MUSIC!

~ by dmclendon on May 5, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
