Bad Music

Lyrics are the component of a song, which stirs up emotion in the music as a whole. Not all lyrics to music have to have significance, but in this instance, the sonic elements play a larger part of the music. I prefer music to evoke emotions that people feel when they hear the voice, lyrics and all sonic elements of a song. This emotion could be positive or negative, but for a particular purpose. I do not get this, when I listen to Britney Spears’ “Piece of Me.”
I am not afraid to say that this song is what I consider as “bad” music, not because she’s the queen of tabloids or for the fact that I don’t particularly listen to this genre of music. She shows no expression when she sings this song, even when it is dealing with her own sensitive issues. When Michael Jackson recorded “Leave Me Alone” he had put so much feeling when he performed that song that you could feel his frustration and the story hind it.
Taking the fact that she could have taken this opportunity to write about her personal experience could have gave her some resignation from me. For a group of professional writers to take Spears’ personal crisis and turn it into mechanism for selling a single, is pretty ridiculous and almost embarrassing.

~ by christypr on June 1, 2008.

One Response to “Bad Music”

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today on Bad Music…Here’s a quick excerpt:I do not get this, when I snoop to Britney Spears’ “Instance of Me.” I am not anxious to say that this song is what I ponder as “bad” harmony, not because she’s the ruler of tabloids or for the actuality that I don’t particularly snoop to this … […]

Leave a Reply

 
